I generally do not have access to a radio (with the exception of Pandora) or a television, so I don’t see or hear a lot of commercials. However, today, while getting my nails done, I did have the pleasure of listening to a lovely light rock station. What intrigued me however, was one of the commercials.

A female therapist was trying to work with a married man about his issues about cable. He was complaining that his wife was recording sappy, emotional shows and he was developing feelings. The therapist recommended that he switch to a different company where he could also record his shows. The gentleman was much relieved about this because he wanted to go back to being a macho man.

My points:
1. Apparently, gender stereotypes still sell. Or at least sell enough that commercials are still based around them. Because everyone knows that women only watch sappy, over emotional dramas and guys love their sports. And of course the husband and wife couldn’t split the two recordings between themselves.

2. I’d like to take a moment to point out that while there are differences between men and women, they are more like the differences between a yellow and a red apple, rather than an apple and an orange. But as long as people keep thinking that men and women are different species (or fairly close to that) lovely commercials like this one will continue to air and sell.

3. So the message of the commercial is “Switch your television provider to our company, and stop being a caring, emotional person and go back to being a beer swinging jerk”?

Or maybe I’m just looking too much into something overheard while waiting for my French tip manicure to dry. Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to go catch up on this weeks Battlestar Galactica.

